THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY Washington, D.C.

The Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate will meet on Friday, September 9, 2016, at 2:10pm in the State Room (1957 E St NW).

NOTE:

Please plan to arrive between 1:45-2:00pm to have your photo taken for a current Faculty Senate directory.

AGENDA

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the meetings held on May 6.
- 3. Introduction of new Vice Provosts (Provost Forrest Maltzman)
 - a. Faculty Affairs: Christopher Bracey
 - b. Diversity, Equity, & Community Engagement: Caroline Laguerre-Brown
- Follow-Up to Special Faculty Assembly on the Presidential Faculty Consultative Committee (FCC) (Depending on the outcome of Faculty Assembly, a Resolution to Provide Additional Members to the FCC may be offered.)
- 5. <u>REPORT</u>: Current Status and Directions in the School of Medicine and Health Sciences (Dean Jeff Akman)
- 6. <u>REMARKS</u>: Report on Executive Committee Summer Work on Response to Proposed Benefits Changes (Executive Committee Chair Charles Garris)
- 7. <u>REPORT</u>: Benefits Changes for 2017 (Interim Vice President for Human Resources Dale McLeod)
- 8. Introduction of Resolutions
- 9. GENERAL BUSINESS
 - a) Faculty Assembly Update
 - b) Nominations for election of new members to Senate Standing Committees
 - a. Libraries: full roster
 - b. Physical Facilities: full roster
 - c. Research: Michael Denieu (Biology post-doc)
 - c) Nominations for appointment to university administrative committees:
 - a. Student Grievance Review Committee
 - b. University Hearing Board
 - c. Committee on the Judicial System
 - d. Joint Committee of Faculty and Students
 - d) Report of the Executive Committee: Professor Charles Garris, Chair
 - e) Provost's Remarks
 - f) Chair's Remarks
- 9. Brief Statements and Questions
- 10. Adjournment

Libraries

Role	Name		
Chair	Sidawy, Anton	SMHS	
EC Liaison	Sidawy, Anton	SMHS	
Voting	Ahlquist, Karen	CCAS	
Voting	Friedland, Elise	CCAS	
Voting	Harizanov, Valentina	CCAS	
Voting	Lunsford, Beverly	SON	
Voting	Robinson, Edward	CCAS	
Voting	Thompson, Ayanna	CCAS	
Voting	Stott, Richard	CCAS	
Non-Voting	Henry, Geneva	Gelman	
Non-Voting	Linton, Anne	Himmelfarb	
Non-Voting	McCorvey, Ann	EVP&T	
Non-Voting	Pagel, Scott	Law Library	

Senate	
Member	Email
х	ansidawy@gwu.edu
х	ansidawy@gwu.edu
	ahlquist@gwu.edu
	efried@gwu.edu
	harizanv@gwu.edu
	bklunsfo@gwu.edu
	erobinso@gwu.edu
	thompsona@gwu.edu
	<u>rstott@gwu.edu</u>
	genevahenry@gwu.edu

alinton@gwu.edu amccorvey@gwu.edu spagel@law.gwu.edu

Physical Facilities

Role	Name		Senate Member	Email
Chair	Roddis, Kim	SEAS	х	roddis@gwu.edu
EC Liaison	Rice, Lisa	GSEHD	х	ehess@gwu.edu
Voting	Aldrich, Amy	ESIA Staff		aaldrich@gwu.edu
Voting	Anderson, Catherine	CCAS		catand@gwu.edu
Voting	Gallo, Linda	CCAS		llgallo@gwu.edu
Voting	Gudenius, Carl	CCAS		<u>cfg@gwu.edu</u>
Voting	King, Michael	CCAS		kingm@gwu.edu
Voting	Kusner, Linda	SMHS		lkusner@email.gwu.edu
Voting	Pericak, Arlene	SON		kaitlin19@gwu.edu
Voting	Robinson, Robbie	CCAS		robinson@gwu.edu
Voting	Ullman, Dan	CCAS		dullman@gwu.edu
Non-Voting	Amundson, Beth	Registrar		amundson@gwu.edu
Non-Voting	Dent, David	EVP&T		ddent@gwu.edu
Non-Voting	McCorvey, Ann	EVP&T		amccorvey@gwu.edu
Non-Voting	Murphy, Terry	Provost		tmurphy@gwu.edu
Non-Voting	TBD	Student Liaison		

Administrative Committee Appointments for September 2016 Senate approval

Committee on the Judicial System

Committee on the Judi	Liai System								
Mary Barron	GWSPH	mjbarron@gwu.edu	continuing	1-year term					
Gutman, Jeffrey	LAW	jgutman@law.gwu.edu	new	2-year term					
University Hearing Board									
Majeda El-Banna	SON	melbanna@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
James Sexton	CCAS	jsexton@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Christine Magee	GSEHD	cmagee@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Student Grievance Revi	iew Committe	ee							
Majeda El-Banna	SON	melbanna@gwu.edu	continuing	1-year term					
Jeffrey Gutman	LAW	jgutman@law.gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Mikyong Kim	GSEHD	kimmi@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Susan LeLacheur	SMHS	<u>slela@gwu.edu</u>	continuing	1-year term					
Mohamed Mohamed	SMHS	mmohamed@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
John Artz	GWSB	jartz@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Art Wilson	GWSB	<u>ajw1@gwu.edu</u>	new	1-year term					
Beverly Lunsford	SON	bklunsfo@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Ashley Darcy-Mahoney	SON	adarcymahoney@gwu.edu	new	1-year term					
Joint Committee of Faculty & Students									
Mikyong Kim	GSEHD	kimmi@gwu.edu	new	1-year-term					
Beverly Lunsford*	SON	bklunsfo@gwu.edu	new	1-year-term					
Keith Mortman	SMHS	kmortman@gwu.edu	new	1-year-term					
Ashesh Patel	SMHS	patelad@gwu.edu	new	1-year-term					
Joan Kester	GSEHD	jkester@gwu.edu	new	1-year-term					
*Chair									