

The Faculty Senate will meet on Friday, September 7, 2018, at 2:10pm in the State Room (1957 E Street NW).

#### **AGENDA**

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the meeting held on May 11, 2018
- 3. INTRODUCTION: Robert Miller, Vice President for Research
- 4. <u>REPORT</u>: Sustainability Update: Meghan Chapple (Director, Office of Sustainability; Senior Advisor for University Sustainability Activities; and Lecturer, Strategic Management & Public Policy)
- 5. Introduction of Resolutions
- 6. GENERAL BUSINESS
  - a) Nominations for election of new members to Senate standing committees
    - a. Educational Policy: Lisa Lipinski (CSAD)
    - b. Fiscal Planning & Budgeting: Majeda El-Banna (SON)
    - c. PEAF: Nicholas Kyriakopoulos (SEAS)
    - d. GW Student Association appointments to standing committees (see attached)
  - b) Election of 2018-2019 Dispute Resolution Committee (see attached)
  - c) Approval of 2018-2019 Joint Committee of Faculty & Students roster (see attached)
  - d) Reports of Standing Committees
  - e) Report of the Executive Committee: Professor Sylvia Marotta-Walters, Chair
  - f) Provost's Remarks
  - g) Chair's Remarks
- 9. Brief Statements and Questions
- 10. Adjournment

Elizabeth A. Amundson Secretary

### **Faculty Senate Standing Committees**

# Nominations for 2018-2019 Student Representatives provided by the GW Student Association (GWSA)

Appointments, Salary, & Promotion Policies
Victoria Lewis

Athletics & Recreation Vaibav Vijay

Educational Policy
Ashley Le

Honors & Academic Convocations Rilind Abazi

> <u>Libraries</u> Yehna Bendul

Physical Facilities
Bella Gianani

<u>Professional Ethics & Academic Freedom</u> George Glass

> <u>University & Urban Affairs</u> Jillian Wolons

At this time, the GWSA has opted not to appoint student representatives to the Fiscal Planning & Budgeting and Research committees.

Appointments may be requested by the committee chairs.

## Dispute Resolution Committee 2018-2019

### Joan Schaffner, Chair

### **Term Ending April 2019**

Bailey, James	GWSB	Management
Harrington, Robert	SEAS	Electrical & Computer Engineering
Dickson, Bruce	ESIA	Political Science & International Affairs
Khilji, Shaista	GSEHD	Human & Organizational Learning
Pelzman, Joseph	ESIA	Economics, International Affairs, & Law

#### **Term Ending April 2020**

Pulcini, Joyce	SON	Acute & Chronic Care
Seavey, Ormond	CCAS	English
Garris, Charles	SEAS	Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
Watkins, Ryan	GSEHD	Educational Technology Leadership
Kennedy, Katherine	SMHS	Pharmacology & Physiology

#### **Term Ending April 2021**

McAleavey, David	CCAS	English
Acquaviva, Kimberly	SON	Nursing
Gutman, Jeffrey	LAW	Clinical Law
Friedman, Leonard	GWSPH	Health Policy & Management
Core, Cynthia	CCAS	Speech & Hearing Science

## Administrative Committee Appointments 2018-2019

### Joint Committee of Faculty & Students (faculty members)

Halliday, David	GWSB	new	1-year term
Hammond, LaTisha	CCAS	new	1-year term
Kim, Mikyong	GSEHD	continuing	1-year term
Melton, Najeebe Danielle	SMHS	new	1-year term
Patel, Ashesh	SMHS	continuing	1-year term
Wasdin, Katherine*	CCAS	new	1-year term
*faculty chair			•
Wasdin, Katherine*		_	•