Faculty Senate Committee on Educational Policy Annual Report: 2018-2019 Academic Year

The Educational Policy Committee met on September 14, 2018; October 12, 2018; November 9, 2018; December 7, 2018, January 11, 2019; February 8, 2019; March 8, 2019; and April 12, 2019.

1. CLAI INITIATIVES

At the September meeting, the Committee met with LAI officials PB Garrett (Associate Dean), Yordanos Baharu (Instructional Technology), Kes Schrorer (Academic Commons), Patty Dineen (Teaching & Learning Center), and Maddy Kadish (Instructional Design). The guests and the Committee engaged in a productive discussion about various LAI initiatives (including Academic Commons, the ITL, E-Design, STEMworks, and LAI-sponsored workshops), and thanked PB Garrett (who was retiring from the University) for her tireless efforts on behalf of the academic community.

2. ACADEMIC WITHDRAWAL POLICY

The Committee continued the discussion regarding the new academic withdrawal policy. Several Committee members reflected concerns about the academic consequences of the policy, which had not been vetted with the Senate before implementation. This issue remains a concern for future consideration by the Committee.

3. 18th CREDIT HOUR POLICY

As a result of the collaboration of Committee members Phillips, Yezer, and Amundson with Provost Maltzman, the 18th credit hour policy (which the Student Association strongly advocated) was modified to ensure that it did not negatively impact on students' ability to enroll in required courses.

4. ONLINE COURSES

A subcommittee consisting of Committee members Ganjoo, Golden, Johnson, Pelzman, Posey, and Wyche presented a report to the Committee addressing intellectual property, class size, and TA policies involving online courses, leading to an extensive discussion with Provost Maltzman regarding these issues. A draft intellectual policy document was presented to and discussed by the Committee; Provost Maltzman agreed to integrate comments from the Committee into a revised draft that would be subsequently sent to the Committee for review.

5. ACADEMIC RANKINGS AND STUDENT EXPERIENCE

At the October meeting, Provost Maltzman discussed with the Committee the reasons for the University's repositioning in the US News & World Report ranks. He also introduced to the Committee Dr. Sissy Petty, Dean of Enrollment and Student Experience. Dr. Petty discussed with the Committee her vision for how to improve the GW student experience.

6. ADMISSIONS POLICY

At the November meeting, the Committee met with Laurie Koehler, Senior Vice Provost for Enrollment Management and Student Experience, and Costas Solomou, Director of Admissions, regarding enrollment policy, admissions policy, and the challenges of balancing diversity, balance across schools/student interest, selectivity, and yield. The Committee discussed with Director Solomou the model currently employed by the University in the admissions process, and the results of applying this model in terms of a variety of different measures. This discussion continued into the December meeting,

7. STUDENT EMPLOYMENT

At the December meeting, the Committee also discussed the impact of student employment on academic performance with Vice Provost Koehler, Director Solomou, Director of Institutional Analytics Eric Yang, Associate Director of Student Employment Bridget Schwartz, and Associate Vice Provost for University Career Services Rachel Brown. This discussion continued into the January meeting.

8. STUDENT SUCCESS

At the January meeting, the Committee discussed ongoing efforts to ensure student success with Vice Provost Koehler, Associate Vice Provost for Student Success Georgette Edmondson-Wright, Director of Student Support and Family Engagement Tracy Arwari, Executive Director of Enrollment Retention Oliver Street, and Registrar Beth Amundson. Topics included the new office of student success in Tompkins Hall, a major analysis of why students stay at GW (and why those that leave, leave), the CARE network, a modification of the waitlist procedure, automation of the registration transaction forms, and development of a new DegreeMAP module to allow students to make better plans and to predict course enrollments in future semesters.

9. REDUCING STUDENT BURDEN

Committee members Ashley Le (Student Association President) and Nicole Cennamo (Executive Vice President) presented the results of a student-conducted survey of clicker systems used by faculty. This led to a wider discussion by the Committee (as well as Instructional Technology Laboratory Director Yordanos Baharu) of additional and unannounced costs imposed on students, such as purchasing clickers. An Academic Resources Subcommittee was formed of Committee members Zara, Amundson, Cennamo, and Le to investigate these issues further.

10. TEXTBOOK ADOPTION POLICY

With invited guests Karen Zinn (Executive Director, Business & Auxiliary Services) and Robert Dickson, the Committee also discussed student concerns about faculty failing to adhere to the textbook adoption deadline. This not only violates federal law, but also can result in substantially higher costs for students due to changes in shipping costs.

11. ACADEMIC CALENDAR

The Committee discussed with Provost Maltzman the Academic Calendar and weather-related closings in the spring semester. There has been a change in university philosophy to announce earlier, keeping in mind the needs of faculty and staff who often travel great distances or have young children that are at home because schools are cancelled/closed. The Committee also discussed the timing of the Fall Break, and the feasibility of shifting it to a different time in the semester.

(The Chair wishes to express his deep gratitude to the Committee members, the guests, and particularly Provost Maltzman, all of whom have selflessly contributed major time and effort to making the University a better place.)

Respectfully Submitted, Philip W. Wirtz, Chair

Beth Amundson Michelle Arcieri Eyal Aviv Cheryl Beil Scott Beveridge Nicole Cennamo Michael Feuer Rohini Ganjoo Catherine Golden Terry Hufford Candice Johnson Ioannis Koutroulis Randi Kristensen Ashley Le Lisa Lipinski Gaetano Lotrecchiano Forrest Maltzman Ashley Minaei Terry Murphy Henry Nau Randall Packer Joe Pelzman Robert Phillips Laurie Posey Marie Price Pradeep Rau Lilien Robinson Mary Jean Schumann Lisa Schwartz Ormond Seavey Megan Siczek Oliver Street Philip Wirtz Karen Wyche Anthony Yezer Jason Zara