

The Faculty Senate will meet on Friday, October 15, 2021, at 2:00pm via WebEx

AGENDA

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Approval of the minutes of the meeting held on September 10, 2021
- 3. <u>REPORT</u>: Fall 2021 Enrollment Update (Jay Goff, Vice Provost of Enrollment and Student Success)
- 4. <u>REPORT</u>: Campus Facilities Master Plan Update (Mark Diaz, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer)
- 5. GENERAL BUSINESS
 - a) Nominations for membership to Senate standing committees
 - PEAF: Nicholas Kyriakopoulos/SEAS (Emer) & Sylvia Marotta-Walters/GSEHD
 - Committee Chairs (see attached)
 - Student Association-appointed representatives (see attached)
 - b) Report of the Executive Committee (Professor Arthur Wilson, Chair)
 - c) Provost's Remarks
 - d) Chair's Remarks
- 6. Brief Statements and Questions
- 7. Adjournment

Elizabeth A. Amundson Secretary



Standing Committee Chair Updates

Recently, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) asked all standing Senate committee chairs with a single chair to work with their FSEC liaison to nominate a co-chair. Several Senate standing committees already employ a co-chair structure in their leadership. Over the course of the pandemic, many time pressures have been brought to bear on all, and FSEC discussed the value of implementing this structure for all the Senate committees. There are many advantages to this, including the ability to share committee leadership tasks and provide redundancy in the event one co-chair needs to briefly step back due to illness or external circumstances. (The one exception to this request of the committees is the Honors & Academic Convocations committee, which is quite small and very defined in its scope; FSEC felt this committee did not require a co-chair.)

Non-Senate members may serve as co-chairs, so long as the other co-chair is a Senate member. Some committees are still considering who will be nominated; the following co-chairs are presented today for Senate confirmation:

Athletics & Recreation: Professor Srinivas Prasad (Senate member)
Physical Facilities: Professor John Traub

In addition, FSEC learned this summer that both Professional Ethics & Academic Freedom (PEAF) chairs would not be able to continue in their co-chair roles as planned. FSEC is very grateful to the following committee members for agreeing to take on the PEAF co-chair roles this year. These nominations should have appeared on the September Senate agenda, and are presented today for Senate confirmation:

Professor Jeffrey Gutman (Senate member) Professor Natalie Houghtby-Haddon

Student Association-Appointed Representatives to Senate Standing Committees

Appointments, Salary, & Promotion Policies: Senator Jovawn McNeil (ESIA-U)
Athletics & Recreation: Vice President Kate Carpenter
Educational Policy & Technology: Senior Policy Advisor Liz Gonzalez
Fiscal Planning & Budgeting: Treasurer Charles Aborisade
Honors & Academic Convocations: Senator Dasia Bandy (ESIA-U)
Libraries: Secretary of Academic Affairs Abbie Francis
Physical Facilities: Secretary of Campus Services Isabella Nienaman
Professional Ethics & Academic Freedom: Jeremy Liskar
Research: Senator Cody Ingraham (LAW-G)

University & Urban Affairs: Secretary of Community & Government Relations Nathan Nguyen