A RESOLUTION TO CONFIRM THE ELECTION OF SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES AS MEMBERS OF THE FACULTY CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (FA 17/1)

- WHEREAS, On June 7, 2016, President Knapp announced that he would not seek a third term and would step down as University President on July 31, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Immediately after President Knapp's announcement, the Chair of the Senate Executive Committee initiated discussions with the Board of Trustees regarding a robust faculty role in the Presidential search process; and
- WHEREAS, On June 30, 2016, after consultation with the Faculty Senate Executive Committee, the Board of Trustees named a 19-person Presidential Search Committee that includes six University faculty;
- WHEREAS, In 1986, the Faculty Assembly adopted Resolution 86/1 (FA 86/1), which established procedures for electing a Faculty Consultative Committee (FCC) to participate in a University Presidential search pursuant to Part C.5 of the *Procedures for the Implementation of the Faculty Code*; and
- WHEREAS, Article III, Section 3(5) of the *Faculty Organization Plan* authorizes the Faculty Senate Executive Committee to act on behalf of the Senate in emergencies, and such action was needed here in view of the fact that neither the University's Faculty Senate nor the University's Faculty Assembly could meet during the summer of 2016 to participate in the planning and organization of the Presidential search; and
- WHEREAS, Soon after the Board of Trustees commenced the planning process for the Presidential search, the Faculty Senate Executive Committee became engaged in developing a plan for the Faculty Assembly to elect the members of the FCC as early as possible in the Fall 2016 semester; and
- WHEREAS, The procedures specified in FA 86/1 direct each of the Schools to elect a faculty representative to serve on the FCC, subject to confirmation by the Faculty Assembly, and also describe the role of the FCC in a Presidential search; and
- WHEREAS, The Faculty Assembly followed the procedures specified in FA 86/1 in electing the FCC for the 2006 Presidential search; and
- WHEREAS, The Faculty Senate Executive Committee has invited the nine Schools (with Senate representation) to elect faculty representatives for the FCC in accordance with FA 86/1, and to do so in advance of a Special Meeting of the Faculty Assembly to be convened on September 9, 2016; and
- WHEREAS The nine Schools have elected faculty representatives to serve on the FCC and have reported the results of their elections to the Chair of the Faculty Senate Executive Committee; and

WHEREAS, In view of the benefits of diverse faculty participation in the search process, the Senate Executive Committee plans to propose to the Assembly an expansion of the FCC; NOW, THEREFORE

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FACULTY ASSEMBLY OF THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

1. That the following nine faculty members, having been duly elected by their respective Schools in accordance with Faculty Assembly Resolution 86/1, are hereby confirmed by the Faculty Assembly and declared to be elected members of the FCC in the search for a new President pursuant to Part C.5 of the *Procedures for the Implementation of the Faculty Code*:

Dina Khoury/CCAS
Nathan Brown/ESIA
Diana Burley/GSEHD
Jennifer Griffin/GWSB
George Gray/GWSPH
Roger Schechter/LAW
Can Korman/SEAS
Vincent Chiappinelli/SMHS
Carol Lang/SON

2. That this action by the Faculty Assembly shall be reported to the Chair of the Board of Trustees by the Chair of the Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate, who shall also proceed to carry out Resolving Clause II(A) of FA 86/1 by convening the first meeting of the FCC.

Executive Committee of the Faculty Senate September 9, 2016