A RESOLUTION TO AMEND THE FACULTY ORGANIZATION PLAN TO AUTHORIZE NON-TENURED REGULAR FACULTY IN THREE SCHOOLS TO SERVE IN THE FACULTY SENATE

WHEREAS, Whereas, Article III.2(a)(3) of the *Faculty Organization Plan*, entitled "Membership," currently provides:

"3. The faculty members of the Senate shall be elected by and from their faculties as follows: the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences, 11 seats; the Graduate School of Education and Human Development, 3 seats; the School of Engineering and Applied Science, 4 seats; the School of Business, 5 seats; the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, 5 seats; the Law School, 4 seats; the Elliott School of International Affairs, 3 seats; the Milken Institute School of Public Health, 3 seats; and the School of Nursing, 2 seats. The faculty members shall be professors, associate professors, or assistant professors in full-time service who have tenure as of the academic year next succeeding the date of the election. Vice presidents, assistant vice presidents, deans, associate deans, assistant deans, and other faculty members whose duties are primarily administrative in nature shall be ineligible for election as faculty members of the Senate."

WHEREAS, the academic programs of the School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS) and the School of Nursing (SON) are different from the academic programs of other schools in the University because intensive clinical training represents a very large component of the academic programs of SMHS and SON, and the clinical training programs of SMHS and SON require a low student-faculty ratio as well as a large number of Regular Faculty who hold non-tenure-track appointments; and

WHEREAS, SMHS and SON each has a comparatively small percentage of tenured faculty who are eligible to serve in the Faculty Senate, and the percentage of tenured faculty at each School is expected to decline or not increase significantly in future years; and

WHEREAS, On June 18, 2015, the University's Board of Trustees approved amendments to Article I.B. of the *Faculty Code*, including an amendment that exempted SMHS, SON, and the Milken Institute School of Public Health (MISPH) from the provisions of Article I.B. requiring that at least 75% of the Regular Faculty in each school must hold tenured or tenure-track appointments and at least 50% of the Regular Faculty in each department must hold tenured or tenure-track appointments; and

WHEREAS, As a result of that amendment to Article I.B. of the *Faculty Code*, SMHS, SON and MISPH do not have maximum limits on their authority to appoint Regular Faculty with non-tenure-track positions;

WHEREAS, Before MISPH and SON became independent schools, the University's public health and nursing programs were part of the University's former Medical Center, which included SMHS; and

WHEREAS, The former Medical Center established its own Medical Center Faculty Assembly and Medical Center Faculty Senate, which functioned as separate governance bodies until the Medical Center was disbanded several years ago; and

WHEREAS, Full-time faculty with non-tenure-track positions in the former Medical Center (including faculty from the medical, nursing and public health programs) were eligible to serve in the former Medical Center Faculty Senate; and

WHEREAS, SMHS, SON and MISPH each has Regular Faculty with non-tenure-track appointments at the rank of Associate Professor and Professor who have more than three years of full-time service to the University and are willing to serve in the Faculty Senate; and

WHEREAS, On September 11, 2015, the Faculty Senate approved Revised Substitute Faculty Senate Resolution 16/4, which endorsed the concept of expanding Senate membership to permit the inclusion of non-tenured Regular Faculty from each school at the rank of Associate Professor and Professor with at least three years of full-time service to the University, provided that at least half of the faculty members of the Senate from each school would be required to hold tenured appointments, but that proposal was not adopted by the Faculty Assembly at its meeting on November 10, 2015;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE FACULTY SENATE OF THE GEORGE WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY

1. That paragraph 3 of Article III, Section 2(a) entitled, "Membership" be amended by the addition of the following sentence at the end of the paragraph:

An exemption to the foregoing rule regarding eligibility for service as a faculty member of the Senate is provided for the School of Medicine and Health Sciences, the School of Nursing, and the Milken Institute School of Public Health to the extent that, from those three schools only, Regular Faculty with non-tenure-track appointments shall be eligible to serve in the Faculty Senate, provided that such Regular Faculty shall have completed at least three years of full-time service to the University and shall have attained the rank of Associate Professor or higher, and provided further, that at least half of the faculty members of the Senate from each of those three Schools shall be tenured faculty members.

2. That the Faculty Senate Executive Committee consult with the Administration as to an appropriate time for consideration of this proposal by the Faculty Assembly and that the Executive Committee be authorized, on behalf of the Faculty Senate, to issue a formal petition to the President, as Chairman of the Faculty Assembly, to place this proposal on the Agenda of the next regular or special meeting of the Faculty Assembly.

References:

A Revised Substitute Resolution on Recommended Changes to the *Faculty Organization Plan* Regarding Faculty Participation in the Faculty Senate (Revised Substitute 16/4), approved by the Faculty Senate on September 11, 2015.

Adopted as amended by the Faculty Senate February 12, 2016